Renault Trucks UK ‘Design A Livery’ Competition

So, once again it has been quite a while since I last blogged, as I have been very busy sorting out some rather important matters, but I am still designing, and now I am ready to show one of the designs I created for a competition, which I came across. It was a ‘Design A Livery’ competition, run by Renault Trucks UK in association with Truck & Driver and Commercial Motor magazines. Although I thought there was a minimal chance of winning, I still thought it was worth entering, especially as a free ‘goody-bag’ was offered to all entrants who entered in time.

What was the brief?

To design a livery for the new Renault Range T truck, which was voted International Truck of the Year 2015. This livery is to be unveiled on a truck cab on the Renault Trucks stand at this year’s Truckfest Peterborough on the 3rd and 4th May. The truck with the winning livery will then be used on Renault Trucks’ demonstration fleet for the rest of the 2015 season.

First Thoughts

The first thing I did was to download the resources from the Renault Trucks UK website, and think about what I wanted the design to be like. Knowing this was for fun, rather than client work meant I approached it differently, deciding to just go with the flow and loosely experiment until I came up with a design that I thought suited the truck well and would get the attention of passers-by at the truck shows. My first thought was to look at whether a particular base colour would provide a base to the design, being bold and standing out from afar, and matching the yellow associated with the Renault brand.

renault-colour

With these colours in my mind, I decided to work on one of the images provided and change the colour of the truck to try both shades of yellow as well as gold.

renault_2

As for what design to place on top I decided to look into the history of Renault Trucks and see where it led. However, in a weird quirk I discovered that Renault Trucks are now actually owned by Volvo, so the link to Renault the car manufacture exists only in name and the diamond shaped logo! I also didn’t find anything I thought was suitable to use as inspiration, so I ended up back at square one.

Experimenting

As I wrote about in a previous blog post, I started a side project for 2015 called Fragments. While that project never really took off as I hoped because of other commitments, I believe the designs have potential, which led me to wonder what it might look like on a vehicle, so I decided to give it a go with one of them, overlaying it over the gold I had previously created. Another small change I made to the design was to add in the International Truck of the Year logo Renault Trucks had created to promote their success.

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 08.41.26

I was pleased with this design, but felt that it meant more to me than it would to anyone else, and would be unlikely to attract the attention that Renault Trucks would be looking for, but it gave me an idea, which became the final design…

The Final Design

I decided that perhaps the answer was to forget about the one colour design and look at something more multi-coloured, something that would really attract attention. I was inspired by Ian Cook’s aka PopBangColour who creates the most amazing paintings using radio controlled cars!

I felt a livery made up of splatters of paint could work really well, especially if it was extremely vibrant. Knowing that this would not be a symmetrical design I created a view of the truck from the other side, so that this could be seen. I also applied the design to the other supplied image showing the front of the truck cab. The results of this, which I was delighted with are below, and they became the final design.

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 08.54.11Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 08.54.19Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 08.54.02

Is this design realistic?

As a graphic designer, it is important to factor in whether a design can be produced or not. Although I am not a vehicle livery designer like Andy Blackmore is for example, I believe it would be possible to produce this design. The hardest part is to ensure the larger paint splatters flow naturally between panels. Although the competition focused on the livery being applied as a wrap to the paintwork, I felt it suited my design to be applied to other areas of the truck, which is also realistic.

Did I win?

No! Although I was not expecting to win, it’s always disappointing to find out you haven’t won. With a judging panel, it’s not always easy to know what they will and won’t like, and their reasons for it. If they were a client, I could ask these questions and find out. However, I entered with that in mind and I’ve really enjoyed it.

Before entering the competition, Renault Trucks stated every entrant would receive a ‘goody-bag’, which appealed to me, and it arrived last week — although technically, it was an envelope — containing a good-quality Renault Trucks cap, a metal keyring, a ball-point pen and a little pad that you can use to clean your phone screen. Thanks Renault Trucks UK!

IMG_7130edit

2 thoughts on “Renault Trucks UK ‘Design A Livery’ Competition

    1. Not sure, I don’t think there’s anywhere online you can see it, but I believe Truck & Driver magazine are doing an article next month about it. I’ll let you know/scan you a copy if I come across it 🙂

Comments are closed.