APP2: St. Luke’s Church – Test Print 1

For this blog post I will be discussing the points that arose from my first test print of the spreads for the St. Luke’s Church book. I asked my tutor to have a look through with me to see what they thought, as I wanted some quality feedback as the project is still at a rather primitive stage.

I printed on standard quality A3 paper on a HP laser printer, which is obviously different from the quality of the final piece,  but this gives an accurate view of the layout and is reasonably strong with colour reproduction, although it is a bit over-saturated.

I’ll also be explaining why I have gone for certain design options, as in my previous blog post, I could not explain much because of a lack of screenshots, so I’ll fix that here.

Looking through the first test print:

I am currently wondering what to do with the contents, whether to leave it clean and minimal, or place a few images on the page. This will be updated as I finalise the number of pages and their order.

One point that was raised was about the consistency of the capital letters throughout the page headings, this will need correcting.

1A

Here my tutor picked up on incorrect use of dashes in the body copy, and spent some time explaining the difference between a hyphen (-), en dash (–) and em dash (—) and when to use them. He also explained hair spaces to me as, with no space between the dash and the words, it can upset the flow for the reader, so therefore a ‘hair space’ can be used to provide a tiny gap.

These small differences are what will help me here to produce a professional top-quality piece; I will be investigating this in further detail in a future blog post.

1B

The layout is getting there, it will just be a case of getting everything organised with regards to images and captions etc. I am thinking of having the right page completely for images, showing the progress of the inside of the church.

1C

Still a very long way to go on this spread. The middle ‘grey’ image on the right page is a reminder to me to make sure my images are linked correctly so InDesign can find them.

I originally expected in my plans, to have a double page spread on Miss Mitchell, but the images just aren’t there to be used, and I am unsure about the text, as it looks like both archive texts I have of her from the Courier are not suitable until they are edited together and cut down to size to be relevant.

1D

A case of picking up from the contents page in terms of ensuring headlines are properly capitalised.

We also discussed that the use of a number system for the images might be better if captions are used instead, as it would better match the rest of the book and keep the layout slightly neater.

By having a double page spread dedicated to showing where St. Luke’s sits in the Parish in a more unusual manner than a map, it creates a sense of interest from the audience, and many people may well be able to spot their house from the images, which I think would be great! Also my thinking was that so few people will have been at the top of the tower, that it is time to show people what it is like, as I really enjoyed being able to look out over the area.

1E

An issue here between the ‘registry black’ of the background and the ‘pure black’ of the image is clearly visible. This is a problem I have experienced before with another project, so I shall fix this.

The tutor also suggested a different typeface for information boxed separately to provide a contrast from the body copy.

1F

This layout is pretty much there, save for captions, linking images correctly and possibly changing the typeface against the ‘old paper’ background as discussed for the above spread.

1G

The next two spreads are still not really developed anywhere, I think once I decide what images I need, then I can fit the text around them.

1H 1I

A very minimal spread, I think this one is done save for the images that I need to ask the archivist to find and send for me.

1J

Conclusion:

Overall, I think the first test print has shown that the format I have chosen for the book is correct, and that the style I have been working on is suitable.

However, there is still a very long way to go to get this book finished, which must be accomplished in just under a week to get it sent off to Blurb in time for me to meet the deadline.

