APP2: Deciding on how to realise the book

For this blog post I wanted to focus on how I am going to realise this book. I am aware that time is reasonably tight, so needed a hassle free, cost effective way of making and printing the book. Therefore I looked into who would provide a service, eventually settling on Blurb, as I have used them previously for my Final Major Project when I was on the HND Graphic Design course, and I was very pleased with the end result. Throughout this blog post, I shall explain why I have chosen them, trying as much as possible not to sound like an advertisement for them…

Timeframe:

One downside is that the time it takes to get the book printed and sent to me. Therefore I need to factor that into the project. This caught me out last year, giving me less time than I expected. I have worked out that January 13th 2014 is the date by which the book must have been sent off to ensure (force majeure excepted) it arrives in time for the deadline.

Paper Stock:

A visit from GF Smith to K College last week to give a very interesting and informative talk made me think about the quality of paper stock used. Investigating Blurb’s paper supplies I have found they used Mohawk Fine Papers, of which samples were given out by GF Smith. Looking through these samples, which use a wide variety of their range, allowing me to gain a thorough overview of their products.

I was very pleased with the quality of the paper I looked through, and judging by the paper I had my Range Rover brochure design printed on earlier this year, I am confident that a high quality finish will be achieved.

IMG_5068_blog

A point GF Smith raised in their talk is the increasing number of designers who are looking for carbon-neutral paper. I believe being environmentally aware as a designer is one of the most important issues of the time, so I am very pleased to see the environmental credentials that Mohawk have achieved.

IMG_5070_blog IMG_5074_blog

Blurb InDesign plug-in:

Knowing that I design editorial pieces using Adobe InDesign, it was crucial to know that Blurb has a plug-in that supports this. Having used it before, I can safely say it is a very impressive system. So with this decision now made, I opened InDesign and the Blurb Book Creator plug-in, and chose the settings I think will be suitable. I’ll go through what I have chosen below this image.

Screen Shot 2013-12-13 at 14.36.11

Book Size:

This took a considerable amount of thought to work out which would be the best way forward. I felt the large 12×12 inch square book was just far too large for the purpose I would be creating for, as well as too expensive to produce.

I then discounted the small 7×7 inch square book, which I used for the Range Rover brochure. This was too small for this project as there will be a lot more text for the reader to view on a page, and I want it to be complemented with images.

Range Rover brochure conceptual re-design

This left the landscape and portrait 10×8 inch books. I felt the size was right, and chose the portrait format, as with the landscape one, I feel when it is opened out, it will be too wide for readers to take in at a glance, having to scan widely from left to right, whereas with the portrait format, everything can be taken in easily with minimum movement from the reader.

IMG_5096_blog

I also had the advantage of looking through one of the church booklets in the archive information I am researching for this project which just happened to be this exact size. Reading through it gave me solid evidence that my decision should be the correct one.

Paper Type:

Looking through the paper types on their website, I feel that the Premium Lustre paper will be the best, as it balances quality with cost, with the lustre finish providing the best base for the photography that will feature throughout.

Number of Pages:

My workings, which I showed in my last blog post, showed there should be around 24 pages. Therefore I am working to this target, and should there be any need for change, it will be factored into the design process as I go.

Cover Type:

As for the cover type, with 24 pages, there is no particular spine as such, which makes it pointless to waste money on a hardback as it will look as though there is hardly anything between the covers. Therefore a soft cover is best, which will mean the book is perfect bound which I am very happy with. A soft cover also gives the book some flexibility, but not too much, which will help its durability.

Conclusion:

Now I have a structure for the book, I can get on with designing for it and spending some time placing text on the pages to refine my estimates as to how many pages I will need.

