APP2: Researching the St. Luke’s Church Archives

Now I have a proposal and brief for the project approved, I need to start researching into the project. To ensure a book with high quality content is produced, I knew the project hinged on receiving the necessary permissions to access the church’s archives, as this would provide valuable information. There would most likely be no better record of the church’s history. Without permission or access, it would not be possible to produce such an accurate book.

The first step then was to contact the St. Luke’s church archivist to enquire as to whether the project would firstly be allowed, and if so, could she be so kind as to give me the links/sources/information I would need in order to build up my research. The prompt response was positive, on condition of vicar’s permission being given. Therefore another enquiry was made, and I was delighted when she gave approval for the project.

With all this in place I could discuss and organise a suitable date and time with the church archivist that would suit both of us so she could show me what the church held. I have to admit to being very unsure as to what I would find. I knew what I needed, which can be seen below:

  • Reliable history of St. Luke’s Church to ensure accuracy.
  • Good quality old photographs, as while I can take more modern photographs, I think old photographs will be crucial to chart the church’s history and importance.

Thankfully, I need not have worried, the church archivist was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and was able to provide all the information I needed and more. Now I was able to definitely state I had enough information for the book.

Information to look through:

IMG_4978 IMG_4980

As can be seen in the above image, I have attained an A2 folder full of information the church showed at its centenary celebrations in 2010, a ring binder file of old St. John’s Church parish magazine archives containing information about St. Luke’s, three booklets, and a memory stick containing scanned-in photos and word documents with more information!

Next Stages:

The project now divides into two. One side will involve looking through the information, selecting the most relevant sections and images, and focus on how to structure the book.

The other half will involve seeking out design inspiration, refreshing my knowledge of putting together a book, and learning any new editorial techniques as I go along. Also it will involve logistical real-world areas relevant to advanced professional practice such as the sizing of the book and the printing of it. The task now is to go through this and work out the structure of the book.

