APP2: St. Luke’s Church Brief & Proposal

For the second of my APP’s (Advanced Practical Project) I have written up a brief and detailed proposal for the project I am to commence with. This is technically a concept brief but I will be in contact with the would-be client, so in many respects, this is as good as a professional client based project.

University of Kent at K College

  • Course:                BA (Hons) Graphic Design
  • Module:                Advanced Professional Practice
  • Project:                 2 of 2

Timeframe

  • Date Set:           Monday 30th September 2013.
  • Deadline:          Friday 24th January 2014.

Theme: Identity

Background Knowledge

St. Luke’s Church represents the Parish of St Luke’s, within the Tunbridge Wells Deanery.  It is a friendly community, representing the Church of England faith. The church celebrated its centenary in 2010. It has a mission statement as follows:

“May you find here
Peace to pray,
Joy to share,
And love to pass on”

The Brief

Who is the client?

St. Luke’s Church

What is the issue?

St. Luke’s Church lacks a well-structured collectable resource that can wrap everything together about their history and identity. The church possesses archives, but these are not readily accessible to most. Likewise the church building has many standout architectural features, some readily visible, some not so that would be great to point out and celebrate.

How to solve the issue?

Create a book that celebrates the church’s history from how it came to exist in the early 20th century to the present day to be showcased and remembered as well as the church’s identity, showing how important the church building is to the local area.

Who is the audience?

The target is the parishioners and wider community who use the church. The audience is rather varied especially in terms of age and accessibility requirements, meaning the design should think about this as a fundamental requirement.

How should the design come across?

Informative, Illuminating, Accessible, Open, Reference.

Technical Requirements

A book. (The size, content, and number of pages will be defined during the research)

Advanced Practical Project: Proposal

What do I intend on creating and why?

I intend to produce a book that celebrates the identity and history of St. Luke’s Church from how it came to exist in the early 20th century to the present day. I believe limited information about the church’s history has been shown before in a small booklet, but this was not professionally designed or comprehensive with regards to the modern era.

On a personal level, I am one of the audience members who feel St. Luke’s Church is an important building in the local area, and it also means a lot to my family. Therefore it would be great to create a book that documents the church’s history and identity.

Designing a book is something I have not approached before, meaning this project will help me to learn new skills through designing a different format, and to cater for a varied audience. I am also hoping the final piece will also make for an excellent personal
portfolio piece.

Research (St. Luke’s Church)

Permissions: I have consulted with both the vicar and archivist of St. Luke’s Church, who are delighted I have chosen to produce this, and have given all necessary permissions.

Archives: I have found out that the church has archives, and have come to an agreement with the archivist that will allow me to see or be pointed to useful resources. This will be invaluable in helping the project to be credible. As of yet however, I am unsure as to what looking through the archives will result in.

Research (Graphic Design)

Books: Very useful for their reliability when searching for information about design and to use as research themselves.

  • ‘Coffee-Table’ books as the best examples contain stunning photography and informative text together in a legible, stylish layout.
  • Reference books may contain useful information about the subject.
  • Design books that cover successful examples and visually analyse them.

Websites: A way of looking through a vast quantity of contemporary, cutting edge inspiration that is relevant. I will be searching for inspiring designs.

  • Design Inspiration websites are out there in good numbers, and feature a vast quantity of inspiration.
  • Tutorial websites will be very helpful to teach me new skills, (an example being photography) in addition to the help of my tutors and fellow students.
  • Subject Matter websites will contain information I need about the topic I am designing for, in this case, about St. Luke’s Church.

NB: The above resources are starting points, so these may alter as the project progresses.

Experimentation & Ideas

Experimentation is a highly essential part of the project in order to help me explore the design options open to me, and help me to create an impressive design.  To experiment I will probably start with mind maps to assess the possible project directions, before advancing through various stages of sketches, refining them as I go, before creating digital mock-ups to assess ideas, which will lead to the final piece.

Testing

To receive the feedback I need to help me ensure the designs are not only as visually pleasing as possible, but suitable for the audience, I will speak to both tutors and audience members for their thoughts. By asking potential audience members, I can build up an idea of whether I am progressing in the right direction. Through previous projects I have found dialogue to be a very fluid and important manner of developing my work and checking if it is suitable or not.

I will also use critical theory to explore relevant visual communication theories and metaphorically deconstruct designs for analysis, and document these findings.

Documenting & Reflecting

I will use my blog to document the creative process with regular blog posts. Also, to ensure my working practices are suitable, some of my blog posts will focus on me taking time to reflect on this. This will either take the form of being a written evaluation, documenting dialogue with my tutors, or documenting interim crits where I receive feedback.

Realising

To realise this project, I will need to think about whether there are any possible costs the project will carry with it. I believe the only cost will come from the printing, so I will need to look for a suitable supplier such as Blurb.

Production Schedule and Contingency

With regards to the schedule, now I have more experience of handling larger projects I am confident that this schedule is accurate and reliable. I also have to factor into the timetable the other projects I am working on, as they will take time, and therefore mean I spend longer on each project than if I just worked solely on one project. I have also added contingency time into the schedule to enable me to correct any issues if they occur.

Week Date Research Experiment Ideas Design Realising Finalise
1 21/10 x
2 28/10 x
3 4/11 x
4 11/11 x
5 18/11 x x x
6 25/11 x x
7 2/12 x x
8 9/12 x
9 16/12 x
10 6/1 x
11 13/1 x x
12 20/1 x
