FMP: Further app development

Here is the latest progress on the app design for my FMP. I feel it is getting to the point where the majority of the app is designed. The main focus for today was getting the pop-out screens done to provide extra information.

The first information panel is for the ‘Seating’ screen, in the Interior section of the app. I decided the pop-out panel would need to fill the whole screen, so I decided to use a black  background set to 90% opacity. The reason for doing this is that it keeps the monochrome theme going, and is a strong contrast from the scheme I have implemented throughout the rest of the app. This contrast is needed to provide a visual notification as such. I have also included a cross in the top right corner to allow the panel to be exited.

For the text I have used 6pt throughout, focusing on Nexa Bold for the copy typeface, as this has much better readability to it, something I need for the rather large blocks of text.

Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 09.10.45 I will need to make some adjustments for the rivers in the typography, pretty much the same as what happened when I was designing the brochure.Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 09.18.44 For the summary screen, where a information panel is needed, the basic idea is the same, but the content is more visual, for example with the exterior paint swatch below, an image is showed instead of text. Therefore the image shows up well against a black background. For a black swatch though, I will place a thin stroke around the edge, which could be carried across to all images for consistency.Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 09.24.45 I realised I needed to finish the ‘Locate Dealer’ part of the app, and for the design mock-ups I am creating I felt it would be best to use screenshots from Google Maps. The idea I have is that a location could be entered, and from there, the local dealerships can be found. It did occur to me that I could theoretically set the app to auto locate where the user is, but that way it does not cater for what happens if the user wants to plan in advance and find a dealer near to where they work for instance… so I have used a postcode finder.Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 14.14.19 On entering the postcode, it will take the user to a screen like Google Maps will, but instead of the destination icon familiar to Google, it can be replaced by a Land Rover logo, in a monochrome shade to match the style of the app, rather than the green and silver of their current logo style.Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 14.26.51 Pressing the Land Rover icon will bring up an info panel, where there is an image of the dealership (there will be on the mock-up when I can source one), as well as the address, and a way of theoretically tapping into Google Maps to get directions.Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 17.37.03

Overall I think I am making good progress with the app, but there is still quite a bit to do, such as conducting feedback, refining elements of the design, as well as starting the ‘Garage’ and ‘Brochure’ section. However, I am starting to think that the ‘Brochure’ section may be surplus, because I am thinking I may have a better way of designing it into the app.

