FMP: Second Test Print for brochure

Here I will show the developments I have made to the brochure. I have made a lot of improvements to the brochure and feel I am nearly there now. I showed both my tutors, as well as the audience members who have been so useful throughout my designing phase, and they feel things are practically there, save for a few smaller tweaks.

The first spread has had the typographic adjustments made, as well as reducing the opacity of the boxes from 95% to 85%, which has produced the desired result.

IMG_3880 IMG_3881 The second spread I am pleased with, and consider it finished. The bottom section of the left page now features the dark grey version of the vector experiment I trialled earlier in this project, as it highlights the main design features that make up the shape of the Range Rover. The text then goes on the right page, with an image on the outside edge of someone sketching, which is a nice connector to the fact that the car is designed.IMG_3882 For this spread I just made some small typographic and spacing adjustments and am pleased with the end result.IMG_3883 This spread has seen quite a lot of changes to it, as I decided that I would only have three facts for the box. With this space at the bottom of the page I decided to place the text there, to leave the other page just for the photograph. To match the off-road spread, as the two are linked, I made sure that the other images were inside the ‘fact’ box.IMG_3884 Here I was advised to split the text up into two columns, to ensure that the line length is suitable. I am annoyed I did not think of this during designing, as it is something I picked up in my research as being a negative point.IMG_3885 For the off-road spread, I was happy with the result of the images and ‘fact’ box.IMG_3886 However, again, I realised I would need to split the text into two columns. The concern was also raised about the readability against the background, so I have decided I will match the layout on the ‘on-road’ spread above this one, and I will cut the ‘fact’ box back to three  images and facts, allowing the text to fit underneath, where the background is darker, leaving the left page just for the photograph.IMG_3887 Here there have only been some spacing adjustments, to reduce the gap between each small tiled image and increase the margin around the edge to the 10mm I have been using. Typography adjustments have been made.IMG_3888 This spread just needed some typographic adjustments with rivers.IMG_3889 Aside from the typographic adjustments, I have changed the top fact as it did not sit stylistically that well, and was concerned that it was not that relevant. So a new fact sits in, with a numerical figure as the main point, which is something preferable to the audience.IMG_3890 I asked my tutors about the problem with the background for the engine spreads, which also applies to the wheels, paint finishes and technical spec spreads, and thankfully there is a way around it. I was taught how to make a clipping path around the engine using the Magic Wand tool in Photoshop, then saving the file as a Photoshop EPS file, which means when it is imported in, the background will not appear. It is a very handy thing to know.IMG_3891 For the standard features spread I made some big adjustments to the text. I took on board the idea about alternating typeface weights, as well as adjusting the text margins so they would be 2mm in from the edge of the box.IMG_3892 One of the tutors pointed out an issue that the background image was rather dark and that the dark grey headings could cause an issue as the margins are not very clear. The over saturated print might be at fault, but I do agree there is an issue so I shall replace this image, with a lighter one, such as the Range Rover in the desert. I already have an image in mind I think will be suitable.IMG_3893 I am really pleased with the way this spread looks now, with all the colours. Since the last blog post I decided on a layout and made all the colour swatches, which I think look great with the variety of colours. I originally wanted a metallic finish, but I could not get this to work, and when I mentioned this, they advised me that this may not be possible in the timeframe I have, but to just get the colours accurate. My audience members also backed this thought up, and mentioned how in most brochures, the colours aren’t that realistic anyway, no matter what approach is taken.IMG_3894 As for the wheels, I have found that with the size I want, the brochure images are of a good enough quality. Therefore I have taken them into Photoshop, removed the background, and then placed a black disc behind to the right size that can resemble the tyre. Feedback showed there to be no problems with accuracy. The top two-thirds of the page contains images with a brief section of text, leaving the bottom third to be for the information table.IMG_3895 The interior spread that had not even been started in the last blog post is now complete. This took a lot of work and was made easier by the fact the brochure images could be used once they were converted to 300dpi. With 10 main colour ways, I chose to lay out 4 on the left page, and 6 on the right. The space at the bottom can be used for text as well as the key for the veneers and head-linings. I then decided the available options for the main interior choice should be placed vertically next to the option.

I then had the issue of most interior options having two different seat colours. Therefore I placed the two colour ways available as tabs under the image. I have explained this in the text, so it should all make sense to the audience. I checked this out with the audience members and they got the purpose of the page, which I was pleased with.IMG_3896 One recommendation that was made to me was to lighten the images, especially the dark ones like the Ebony & Ebony so I will do this in the next batch of adjustments. IMG_3897 The options page was the last spread that was a work-in-progress, so I asked about the general style, which was favourably received. When I spoke to the audience members about this, they stated it is difficult to read through optional extra lists in conventional brochures, as I discovered in my research, and felt there should be a better way that encourages them to go through the list rather than a bog block of small text. To this extent I have made boxes to fit in with the general style of the brochure, kept the type at 9pt (the same used throughout most of the brochure) and for relevant options will include an image. IMG_3898 The sustainability spread has been simplified in accordance to the feedback I got in the last blog post, and now works really well. The image I have used for the background really sells this spread to the audience. I condensed the three main sections of text into a shorter couple of paragraphs, which works better, and fits in with the style of the brochure.IMG_3899 I decided with the amount of information that was going to need to go on this page that it would be too much, so I decided to turn this into a spread. The left page features the vector illustrations of the Range Rover, which I traced from the press pack. The other space on that page is taken up with other dimensions based information. The right page is then a table based structure to fit in other information not featured already in the brochure.IMG_3900 The only issue I could see is that there was an issue with the background again. I will try and use the method my tutor showed me earlier, but I am concerned it will not work. If not, I’ll have to try another way of making it work, even if that way is not as aesthetically pleasing.IMG_3901 For the last page, I now needed something to fill it. I could have just put a nice image of the Range Rover in, but I felt the space would be better used to advertise the option all customers have of collecting the vehicle from the Solihull handover centre, where the factory and one of the off-road experience centres Land Rover run is based.IMG_3902

I am really delighted with the way this brochure is turning out. In the next blog post I shall show the adjustments and run through the finished copy of the brochure, then I will turn my attention to the covers and content page, before sending it off to Blurb. The end is in sight!

One thought on “FMP: Second Test Print for brochure

Comments are closed.