FMP: First Test Print for brochure

Now came the time when I would be able to conduct the first test print of the brochure. I feel enough of the spreads have been designed so that I would like to get some feedback from other people in the graphics group (which was very positive) as well as ask one of the tutors for some advice.

Below I’ll go through each spread as it currently stands, and mention any development points/feedback as I go.

I am now confident the first spread is complete save for small adjustments. I have now placed the image on the left page in such a way that it leaves a border around the edge that matches the other boxes on the page. The only disappointment I have is that the printer, which is heavy on saturation has made the black boxes opaque. Therefore I will need to reduce the opacity from 95% to something around 85%.

IMG_3858 The tutor also pointed out to me that I had got some unsuitable rivers in the typography, as well as an orphan. This means the text is not as easy to read as it should be, with the ragged line edges (rivers) not being neat enough, disturbing the visual simplicity of the spread. To counteract this, I shall change the wording to suit.IMG_3859 This is one of the unfinished spreads currently, as I finally decided on what I wanted to do here. Showing the car from a front and back angle is a must and I felt the studio images in the press pack would be the best way of achieving this. Because the backgrounds are rather plain, I can bleed them off the page. I have also had some ideas of what other images should be included on the page, and I think I may be able to use my vector experiments, which I discussed here, as it highlights the design of the Range Rover.IMG_3860 The tutor pointed out a thin, white line across the spread and wondered why it was there. This is an error, and something I had forgotten to delete from when I was experimenting with a black background for the entire page.IMG_3861 I am really happy with the way this spread now looks. I have replaced the top fact, which I had previously made up to fill the space with a genuine fact I came across. After the tutor’s comments regarding the typography earlier, I shall clean up the rivers and any errors. I should have mentioned earlier the key point of the fact box is 21pt to make it large enough to assert itself in the visual hierarchy of the spread. The leading of the next line is also 21pt to leave a sufficient gap.IMG_3862 I finally started putting together a basic structure for this spread, I had decided on the background image that was suitable for the topic a while back, and knew the transparent ‘fact’ box would be included, but I was not sure where to place the text and images. I think I am close to finding a solution, but there is still some mileage to go with this.IMG_3863 The tutor pointed out that instead of using a … at the end of the text, there is an actual glyph for an ‘ellipse’, which is what I need to replace the … with. This is something I shall correct for this spread, and the next one, where the same thing occurs.IMG_3864 I am really pleased with the way this spread now looks. Because of the background being rather busy, I have chosen to incorporate the images into the transparent ‘fact’ box, an approach which I think works very well. This then leaves the text for the left page, where it can go below the other Range Rover. I was a little concerned about the clarity with it being on top of the water, but I think it is alright as it is. We’ll see.IMG_3865 Again, the ellipsis issue, which I will fix.IMG_3866 The interior spread is one that I am very happy with, as everything is spaced correctly, there’s a blend of images focusing on the main features, and I feel the ambience of the interior is reflected well.IMG_3867 However, the tutor pointed out a widow in the type, which I will need to fix. Again, as with the other spreads, I shall spend some time improving the setting of the typography.IMG_3868 The second interior spread, looking at new luxury features the Range Rover now has, is complete save for some typography changes. Having the large images give the audience the best chance outside of a showroom of seeing the feature, and the smaller image allows for a particular detail to be picked up on.IMG_3869 This spread, focusing on the practicality of the Range Rover, is one that has taken a particularly long time to create. The left page originally featured four images of the boot opening/closing at different stages as well as all the controlling buttons etc. but when I got feedback people said it was too cluttered. I also realised I had forgotten to mention the towing capacity of the new Range Rover, so I needed to alter the text and images, and I think this approach has worked really well.IMG_3870 The engine spread is one I consider done save for typography adjustments. The information is really easy to read, and I think this is a good step forward over the current brochure, where type sizes and leading are too small.IMG_3871 However, the test print shows that there is some discolouration between the engine background, which I changed in Photoshop, and the background in InDesign. This is really disappointing, and unfortunately I forgot to mention this to the tutor. I will do so when I do the next stage of test printing. Hopefully it is something fixable.IMG_3872 This spread, looking into standard features is a long way from completion. I think the layout of the page is nearly finalised with margins etc. but I am not happy with the text as it needs something to differentiate different features. I was originally thinking something like a grey box to go behind alternating features.IMG_3873 Which is where the tutor suggested alternating between typeface weights, so in my case Bold and Light for the Nexa typeface. I think this is a really good suggestion, and can see this working, so I shall make these changes.IMG_3874 As for the paint spread, it is possible to see that I have made my own colour swatches of the cars, but as of yet I am unsure of how to position them, as there are 15 standard colours, and 22 Autobiography colours. So I am trying different sizes and positions. What I will likely do is fit the 15 standard colours onto one page, and find another way of putting the Autobiography on the right page, as they are less likely to be chosen by buyers.IMG_3875 For the wheels page, I am not happy with the size of them so far, as I think they will be too large to put the relevant information on the page. However, I am not so sure the images in the brochure will be big enough once converted to 300dpi. They will also need to have tyres behind them, as I think (and have been informed by the audience members) that wheels always have tyres on, in various sizes and profiles depending on the wheel size, which affects the aesthetics, so why not show that in the brochure?

For the accents page, I have made sure to include a large image of the side of the car to give the audience a very good impression as to how it will look. I have then supported this with a couple of other, smaller images with different variants.IMG_3876 I think this spread really focuses on minimal design… 😛 Seriously though, this is one I need to start on. Again, I am not so sure on what direction to take, as the brochure images are likely to be too small, and I want to limit the options onto one spread.IMG_3877 I really think the brochure needs a spread on sustainability, as it is such an important topic at the moment, which most people, including the audience members of the Range Rover, are interested in. It is also worth noting that to make big sustainability improvements costs a lot of money, and the only people who can afford to do this are the richest. This pays for the research and development work, and ways of making it cheaper, which will then benefit other cars and a greater percentage of consumers.

As for the design of this spread, there are so many facts I have decided to have two ‘fact’ boxes on the outside edges of the spread. The other boxes will be removed. Feedback has told me there is way too much text on the spread, so this should be substantially reduced to match the style of the brochure. I also planned on including images of the aluminium space-frame and leather production but these will take up too much space, so I have decided I will remove them.IMG_3878 As for the facts and figures page, I am currently thinking about a grid style underpinning the vector images of the cars I plan to make. This will give it a technical feeling. The background colour will change to grey, and the gridlines will become dark grey.IMG_3879

So that is the brochure so far. I will now work on the next set of developments, do a test print, and will gather some feedback from there, and put that into the next blog post. Then I will be hoping to have a finished brochure that I can send off to Blurb for printing.

