FMP: Continuing the spread designs

After the last blog post, where I was looking for a design layout to underpin the brochure, I started to put spreads together properly. This process was very evolutionary, I reacted to what I was seeing on the screen, rather than visualising an idea and following it through exactly, which has allowed me to be more creative. This has meant I haven’t captured every stage of development, but have tried to capture the most important. And with a lot of pages in the brochure (although less than the average) it would take too much time and simply be irrelevant to show every single change.

Inspired by my recent visit to the Land Rover Design and Engineering Centre in Gaydon, which can be read about here, I started designing the design and engineering spread. The purpose for this spread being here, is that Land Rover has a poor reputation for unreliability, when in reality, it is little mentioned that many of these vehicles suffer from very few problems, and rivals are not necessarily any better. After seeing the extent these vehicles are tested to on my visit, I wanted to express this to the audience.

Therefore I selected an image that perfectly sums up testing, and works so well as a background. Placing the focal point of the vehicles in the upper portion of the page allows for space in the bottom to be designated for text and other images, as seen below. The other images I have included is a hot off-road test, and the car being manufactured to draw on the quality control being practiced at the Solihull factory. My research showed me infographics are very popular at the moment, as they can be used to get main facts across to the audience quickly and concisely, so I had the idea of including a box, which can go down the edge of either the left or right page depending on the image which can have the impressive key facts in. Making it transparent allows some of the image to still be seen.
Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 20.44.45 The first development I made to the spread, was to add page numbers, to match what I had done in the contents. This was also a recommendation I received, as it was mentioned that if you wanted to refer to something on a particular page, then you could remember the number, or find it through the contents.

I also improved the layout, by now fitting it to a structured grid. I made it into three columns with a 6mm gutter. I made sure the margins were 10mm all around to allow enough space and ran the images off the page to at least the bleed marks.Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 20.59.15

The next spread I wanted to try out was the on-road one, which is in the brochure to highlight the capabilities of the Range Rover in this particular area. I have selected a suitable image, positioning the car up against the top right margins to give some structure to the page. So far I have not really thought of something suitable for this spread yet, so will leave it and come back to it later.Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 20.49.45 The spread below was another one I had issues with. The focus of the spread is on the heritage of the Range Rover, as the first one was created in 1969, and since then over a million have been made. The impact of the Range Rover on the automotive landscape is not to be underestimated, as it was the first desirable 4×4 that could be used both off and on-road, which made it a car for all seasons. This heritage is something I want to convey to the audience, especially if they are new to the brand, from say Bentley, a company that has a lot of heritage.Screen Shot 2013-04-26 at 13.17.23 The spread above shows the image I wanted to use, but I could just not get it to work as a double page background, as there is always something important in the turn-in. So as can be seen below, I decided it would have to go on one spread. I did experiment with some other studio images on the opposite page, but felt they didn’t add much, and was too similar to the Range Rover press pack. I’ll come back to this spread later.
Screen Shot 2013-04-26 at 13.14.27 The interior spread is needed to showcase to the audience the luxurious interior the Range Rover has. At its launch in 1969, the new levels of luxury for a 4×4 were another aspect that helped to make it such a popular car. This characteristic has been accentuated to the point now that the Range Rover is without doubt, a true luxury car. I have selected one main image to show the front of the interior below, as well as a complement of smaller images to show the smaller details within the interior. I have used the tiled effect I saw in the Bentley brochure for the smaller images, as I felt this worked particularly well. The white background provides a minimal, bright, airy feel to the design.Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 12.23.49 The second interior spread focuses more on the new features added to the Range Rover, such as the Rear Executive Class and the full length Panoramic Sunroof. The former feature has a double role, to sell the option, and to highlight the spacious, luxurious rear compartment of the Range Rover. I decided here as each page has a separate function that I would be best of having a separate background image for each one, but because none of the image could be covered with text or other images, I decided it would be best to leave some of the background underneath.Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 13.14.07 After that, I wanted to try another style of page, which would be an information based one mainly. I decided to keep the left page as a promotional page, matching the style I had previously designed for other spreads. The right page would fix a major issue I had identified with the brochures when I researched them, which was that the text was really small and cramped together, making it very difficult to read the information. I fixed this by keeping the text size the same as in other areas of the brochure, alternating colours depending on the hierarchy, and implemented a three tone table, with headings being a dark grey (CMYK 0,0,0,80), and then using a light grey (CMYK 0,0,0,40) for the alternate rows. The white from the background was suitable for the rest.Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 16.30.42 As can be seen below, I have finished the table and developed it some more now. Aesthetically the two big differences are that I have lightened the text to enable it to be easier on the eyes, and run the headings and alternate rows to the edge of the page. This matches the result I have created with the image, and will visually maximise the dimensions of the page.

With the typography for this brochure, I am going to use Nexa Light for the larger titles and in the footer, 9pt Nexa Bold for the text size to make it legible. 9pt would be too small for many typefaces but the geometric shapes and thick stroke work best at this size.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 16.47.53

Conclusion: I asked the audience members what they thought of my initial designs, and I’ve made a list of their responses:

  1. The white background is not pleasant. It is too stark and looks cheap.
  2. The photos look great, and are really selling the lifestyle.
  3. The monochrome approach is starting to look really good.
  4. The infographic style will work well to give an immediate burst of key/interesting facts.
