FMP: Research conclusions

In this blog post I shall be drawing together all of the conclusions from all of the blog posts I  have done for the research of my FMP. Although this does not exactly mark the end of my research, as there are still a couple of things I expect to need to research later on in the project, I feel I have reached a stage where conclusions can be successfully drawn to allow me to progress onto starting to experiment with ideas in order to create designs from.

I will split my conclusion into specific sections in order to keep a sensible list I can refer back to throughout the project to ensure I am meeting the targets.

Addressing the audience:

  • The designs should be creating a desire amongst the audience.
  • The designs, especially the brochure, should put the audience interests first, answering the questions they will have when looking into a new vehicle. It should not be a laborious process.
  • The audience needs to be treated with honesty and sincerity. Cars will not be sold if the manufacturer’s attitude is wrong.
  • The wording needs a lot of consideration, things like mentioning ‘commissioning’ rather than ‘buying’ makes a big difference to the reaction of the audience as they feel the interest they have in a car is reflected by the manufacturer.
  • Information should be logically laid out, and quick to understand. Nowadays audiences will not read long passages of text to get the info they want, they will just move on to the next thing.

Brochure:

  • I am glad to see print brochures are doing well throughout the automotive industry, and I think a tactile approach is now needed to ensure the print brochure remains a sought after part of the car buying process instead of the audience deciding they would rather have a PDF file instead.
  • I will still produce a PDF version of a brochure, as it will be more convenient for many, and from my research, Issuu seems to be the best way forward.
  • My research has shown the more expensive the car, the better the design of brochure, and I think there is a chance for the Range Rover brochure to go above its price range into a even higher sector. Many potential customers already own cars from renowned luxury brands.
  • The design needs to physically reflect the vehicle somehow, as the Evoque Victoria Beckham edition brochure picked up on the matt grey finish and rose gold details  and ran the colour scheme throughout.
  • As well as the vehicle, the brochure needs to sell how well it fits into a broad range of lifestyles. Not everyone drives their car across stunning landscapes everyday!

Promotional Material:

  • I believe the best format for my promotional material will be a leaflet and a couple of editorial adverts to really grab the audience’s attention, to highlight the capability of the vehicle. It really can’t be boring, and must create intrigue.
  • RKCR/Y&R were an inspiration in how they really understood the qualities of the Land Rover Defender and how to sell that, so many ideas will focus on replicating the effect with my design knowledge.
  • It must share a design style established with the brochure and the app design to ensure the Range Rover identity remains strong, and instantly identifiable.

App Design:

  • The app design needs to be logical and intuitive in its interface. This can be done by making use of similar design features as seen in other apps or on the iOS system is needed to create familiarity for audience members.
  • I am surprised at the lack of car configurator apps out there, which provides a great opening to get in nice and early to a new sector for promoting vehicles. The fact Land Rover does not produce one allows me to design what is needed, without looking like I am just copying their design.
  • Tying in this design to the brochure, like mentioning the app in the brochure, will help my project appear as a cohesive package’.

What do I need to think about when designing?

  • Building a brand is important, which means designs should share elements. This will also increase the productivity of the project as elements can be carried over. Whilst Range Rover’s are a model in the Land Rover range, there is a divide, and designs should reflect the unique status of the Range Rover.
  • The design should sell the car to both the head and the heart. Design elements such as photography is key to selling to the heart, whereas the head needs logical information such as pricing and specification details.

Where to go next?

  • Wireframing ideas.
  • Experimenting by creating designs and getting ideas from head down onto paper and on-screen that have gathered from research as well as inspiring designs.
