Analysing the Audi A3 app

Unlike the VW and Jaguar apps that focused on configuring a vehicle selected from the entire range, the app I am going to look at here is focused on a specific model in the range, and covers more than the configuration. This is an approach that I had not previously thought about taking for the Range Rover app I was planning on designing, and highlights how worthy research has been to me, as I am exploring the best options.

View the New Audi A3 app here on iTunes Preview.

App Icon: The app icon here does a good job of conveying what it was designed for. The Audi logo is there, the A3 features to tell the audience what vehicle the app focuses on. Underneath that is the sketch of the A3 that featured in many of the ad campaigns. The only criticism I have is that it all seems a little cluttered and formulaic. Perhaps if the A3 was a touch smaller and the Audi logo was positioned centrally that would help?

Screen Shot 2013-04-05 at 19.47.25

I have to say I am not sure on the circular theme. This is more of a personal taste issue I have than one of functionality, but I am not so keen on the way it leaves the corners as dead space. As for the user interface it seems rather easy to get to grips with, the top switch controlling whether you look into the 3 or 5-door A3, followed by the circular elements with their functions laid out, and further details at the base, such as paint colours, and below that, a way of furthering your interest in the vehicle.

It looks to be a good system to use, but I am not sure it actually covers the configuring process in full. It seems more of an interactive light brochure.I noticed in the screen below, the app makes use of ‘hotspots’ areas, which when pressed, reveal more information. This seems like a great way of keeping the interface minimal, and only revealing it when necessary. They also be turned off, which I think is great for audience members who don’t want or need the extra information.An interesting feature I noticed on the A3 app was the ‘A3 on your drive’ option, which from what I’ve read, allows the user to upload an image and fit the car into the image to give a semi-accurate rendering of how it would look. For many people this is likely to be a gimmick, but it is an interesting idea nevertheless. However, I don’t think this will be something I’ll be looking to incorporate into my app design.

Conclusion:

  • I will now turn my attention to figuring out this new approach to the app design, when I come to ‘wireframe’ the concept.
  • Social media is something I need to ensure I work into my app, as the audience are wanting to share their configuration/images etc… through either Facebook or Twitter.
