Looking through some library books for my FMP

As I have analysed a large number of car brochures in my blog posts recently, I thought I would go to the library in order to find some books that may be relevant to the project. I did not just want to focus on brochure design, so alongside taking out a book about brochure design, I also took one out that focused on catalogue design and experimental packaging, as these are creative areas that overlap with brochure design.

Unfortunately I found even the most up to date books in the library are 10 years old or more. For this project, I find this is a big drawback, as a lot of the work in the books, in my opinion, looks dated, although I have no doubt they would have been a great source of inspiration at the time. It made a note in my mind of just how fast things move in the design industry, and to keep moving as a designer or to risk falling behind the times. However, I have picked out a few things I liked, and may be of use to this project.

The Best of Brochure Design 07:
IMG_3718 Perhaps there could be something more creative done with the brochure template, whether that is a front cover with a shape cut out to allow you to see something beneath, or one that opens differently etc… Below is an example of this, with a brochure design produced by Hat Trick Design. It has made me think as to whether I should be more creative with the physical aspect of the brochure, as up until now, I had just been thinking about the design to create a traditional printed brochure.
IMG_3722 Another area I have not touched upon as of yet in this project is printing/finishing processes. The below design makes use of blind embossing, something which I think works very well to suggest quality, with the addition of depth to the design, and definitely is minimalist, as no ink needs to be used. However, this needs to be taken into account from an early stage rather than a last minute one, as lines that are too thin for example won’t look as good once embossed.IMG_3723 There was no doubt in my mind looking at this page that I’d seen the big ‘K’ style logo used somewhere else for an identity, and it reminded me of the college that is the campus for my graphic design course. Check out the logo here on the K College website, and see what you think of the comparison. Just to note I am not saying anyone has copied anything, as similar ideas can arise from different sources, but there is a large visual similarity to the initial concept. This is something I will be trying to avoid for my designs, although designing Range Rover promotional materials will mean design elements are taken from their current range of materials, such as logos and perhaps even colour schemes depending on corporate guidelines.IMG_3724 I am not normally a fan of shock advertising, as in my opinion, they are generally crude, and sometimes divert attention from the subject, to a moral debate over the suitability of such adverts. However, a simpler, more meaningful route has been taken by the NSPCC, and it was one that really made me stop and think about what was being said. I thought it was such a good design, because it melted into the background, thanks to the minimal design, allowing the point to be made with clarity.

“Good design is invisible”

Relating it back to my FMP, it strikes a chord that removing clutter from a design is essential in order to allow your message to stand out. The message is the reason for the design, so to divert from the message is a failure.IMG_3725

Catalog Design: The Art of Creating Desire:IMG_3732 The below passage of text, I think is one of the most relevant pieces of research I have come across so far. It very concisely describes the key elements catalogues should contain, which I believe transfers seamlessly over to brochure design as well, because both areas are about selling products.IMG_3733Although strictly not influential on the project, I couldn’t resist showing the below image here, because it really appeals to me. The black and orange colour scheme has a very strong contrast and reminds me of how important it is get to get a colour scheme in place to tie the design together. Currently Land Rover uses a dark blue as the background colour, which I may well continue, and complement this with another colour, perhaps white for that minimal, bright look.
IMG_3734 Until I read the statement in the below image, I had never really thought of editorial design when looking into brochures, despite looking through an Audi magazine for ideas earlier in my research. I don’t know why the connection didn’t fully appear, perhaps it was because so many magazines do not feature design of an especially high standard. But when thinking about it, both editorial and brochure feature heavily on layout, mixing images and text together.IMG_3735

Experimental Packaging:IMG_3728 Seeing the photo for the Lindberg glasses case fashioned from aluminium has given me the idea of maybe playing on the fact that the new Range Rover is up to 420kg lighter because it now is built as a all-aluminium monocoque chassis. This is an incredible weight saving over the old version, and is one well worth highlighting to the audience. Perhaps that could form a design style, making use of brushed aluminium finishes?IMG_3729 Seeing the recycled vending cup idea that Remarkable Pencils have taken and made a successful business out of, made me wonder about the sustainability of the stock I use for the brochure. I think I will need to assess what I use, and seriously consider the environmental impact. However, any type I go for must be of a very high quality, as I am not sure the audience will compromise quality for sustainability. It is an interesting point I’ll cover later in my research.IMG_3731

Conclusion:

  • Where to go from here with regards to using books? Well, I guess it is possible I may have missed some books in the library, or they were taken out at the time. I’ll have another look, but I think if I need any books I’ll buy them from somewhere like Amazon, as I’m sure they’ll be useful in the future for me.
  • The big thing this research has reminded me though is not to forget the physical aspect of the brochure, while I am looking into the design of the pages inside.
