Analysing the Range Rover Evoque preview brochure

Following on from my analysis of the Range Rover brochures as well as both the Range Rover and Range Rover Sport press packs, I came across a PDF version of a preview brochure for the Range Rover Evoque I downloaded when it was launched. I wasn’t originally going to add this into my research, as I have researched a lot of Range Rover promotional material lately, but I was surprised at how different the design here was, so I decided to analyse it.

The first thing that I noticed was that the orientation of this brochure is portrait. The majority of brochures I have come across have been landscape, in order to maximise the landscape photography I would gather. But here there is none, so that has allowed for a greater design flexibility.

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.25.06

The front cover is also very minimal, helping the cover to look very stylish, suitable for the fashion conscious buyers the vehicle was marketed to. I especially like the two weights of the typeface used, with ‘Evoque’ being slightly lighter. This asserts a hierarchy to it, it is a Range Rover first, then an Evoque. This is important as there was talk of whether it was a proper Range Rover when it was launched, being much smaller, without featuring all of the characteristics held by the Range Rover and Range Rover Sport.

The typeface that Land Rover has used below is the thin weight of the custom typeface they use for all their promotional materials, but what caught my eye is how it has been integrated into a background image, the edge of which can be seen on the left of this screenshot. The changes in colours gives an interesting effect, bringing the type into life, giving it a much greater visual impact. This is something I definitely want to explore further for my design proposals.

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.25.40 The swatches that are available within this preview brochure are not as detailed as the audience would expect from a standard brochure, but showing leather and veneer finishes applied to actual interior parts does lend a helpful sense of realism to the scenario as the swatches here are closer to reality than in many brochures.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.25.57 It is interesting to see how the wheel options have been displayed look more like a piece of art, as if they’re hung from the ceiling at an art gallery. This lends the spread a very stylish, decorative aesthetic. The tall, vertical artwork (in this case a map) is really maximising the portrait orientation.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.26.04 The wire-frame Evoque is the symbol used by Land Rover to promote the sustainability of their company, and of the new model, the cleanest in their range. I think it is a fantastic three-dimensional model that really highlights the structure of the vehicle. The use of wire-frame promotes a transparent company, as well as lightness, and efficiency for the vehicle, attributes which perfectly suits the topic of sustainability.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.26.14 The back cover of the Evoque preview brochure does not feature an image of the vehicle. Instead, it is promoting London, as an example of an urban area, where these cars are likely to be very common with a style conscious audience looking for a small, modern, yet premium car. The Evoque breaks new ground for the automotive industry, in other sectors such as fashion and jewellery, the connotations are there to promote it is perfectly acceptable to sell small, but expensive quality items, whereas in the automotive industry, there has been a trend for more expensive cars to justify their price tag by simply being larger. The role of this car is to buck the trend.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.26.32

Conclusion:

  • I would benefit my research with a further look into the expected/actual demographic of Range Rover owners. This way I can tailor the brochure to meet the standards they expect to see when searching for a vehicle.
  • The creativity within this brochure has really stood out to me, as I have to say looking through the vast majority of brochures has been one and the same really, as although, they are very smart, they all have a very traditional, predictable way of approaching the situation. As this is my FMP, I don’t really want to produce a ‘typical’ brochure.
