Analysing Range Rover press packs

In my last blog post, I analysed two Range Rover brochures to work out their strengths and weaknesses  and started to summarise conclusions that will shape this project. Searching around for information on the car, I came across a PDF press pack for the Range Rover, had a look through and found it to be rather different to the brochure. Therefore I have decided to write up a blog post about it. I also found a PDF press pack for the 2010MY Range Rover, from which I wanted to raise a couple of points.

2013MY Range Rover press pack: (which can be accessed here)

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.29.46

Front Cover: This is a bit of a mixed bag for me. The dark blue looks rather smart, and as I noticed when I visited the local Land Rover dealer, this colour is becoming a strong part of the brand. I’ll try and get some photos next time I’m there. As for the pale blue border I can see it provides a frame, but I think it upsets the simplicity, it would have been better perhaps if it had framed an image. The text is also interesting, as I feel the “All New Range Rover” is a strong statement, potentially a phrase well worth carrying across to my designs. This is because although the Range Rover has been around in some form for 40 years, this suggests a new era, which it is.

Photography: As with the brochures, there is nothing wrong with the photography, it is of the highest standard. During my research, I have come across the Media Centre for Land Rover. This features some great Image Packs for the Range Rover, in high-res and low-res, so that will be where the vast majority of my images will come from. This is a great resource to me, as it allows me to work with professional photography.

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.29.58 Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.30.07 Typography: I was not exactly complimentary towards the typeface seen in the image below when I saw it in the brochure, and I still wonder if there are better options, but I have to say, I do think it looks a lot better when there is a block of text, rather than a few sentences. This is where the strong legibility thanks to the simple, geometric shapes and high x-height come into their own, not causing any difficulty to the reader, which is a great quality.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.30.23 The pull quote that is seen on this spread is a good example of typography being part of the design, rather than just conveying words to the audience. Something I will be interested to experiment with will be if the pull quote can be made to work on top of this image, instead of being separated from it.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.30.35 Layout: I was pleased to see some more adventurous layouts within the press pack, as the brochure was rather disappointing. The first thing that I thought looked good was the white translucent ‘picture frame’ around the section name as it gave some definition to the text without it being lost within the image.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.30.48

The ‘picture frame’ idea is certainly one that carries itself throughout the press pack, working from display spreads like the one above, to more in-depth layouts, featuring multiple images. The only thing I think is not suitable on the below spread is how the margins differ for each page, as it unbalances the design. If the margins on the right page matched those on the left, that would be preferable.

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.31.55Illustrations: There was a good range of illustrations mixed into the press pack, to highlight the conceptual design stages for the Range Rover and to highlight elements of its construction and capabilities.

Personally, I am a big fan of concept sketches such as the one below as it gives a great opportunity to look behind the scenes into the creative process and shows the effort and thought that has gone into making this car a reality. It is something I believe the audience will appreciate as well.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.31.11 With these (presumably vector) illustrations highlighting technical aspects of the Range Rover, I feel they work extremely well to convey the information it is designed to. One of my criticisms of the Range Rover brochure was that it did not use an information graphic style of conveying information, but here it does, and it works well. This gives me confidence this is the right way to head for my design proposals.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.31.26 Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.31.40Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.32.09 Using the graph paper style background I think works very well to convey the technical aspect of the vehicle, but I think I would drop the opacity as at the minute, I feel it has a bit too much impact on the page.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.32.31 Back Cover: After my comments on the front cover, I stand by them when I see how good the simple plain blue cover looks. I also think the pale blue Land Rover logo works. To me it looks like it should be embossed, and perhaps it is on the physical copy, but as I can’t get hold of one, it will remain a mystery…

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 07.32.50

———–

6/4/13 – Edit: Except it wouldn’t remain a mystery for long! This is because while gathering inspiration from Behance, I came across FP Creative, a “communications agency” who created this press pack as well as other publications. I’ll add the others specifically into my research. Below are a couple of images from their Behance page I’m using for research.

Although I have started to think about the format my designs could take, I had not thought of a hard back cover before. I can really see the advantages of this, as it would allow it to be more like a book than a brochure, and it give it a level of strength and toughness, key characteristics of the Land Rover brand.

I think the photography looks stunning in print, the stock used has a lustre to it that gives a real vibrancy to the colours, and reminds me more of the experience seen when watching an HD TV program, especially something like Planet Earth.

I felt this design was impressive before, but seeing it in print has really emphasised this point to me.

———–

2010MY Range Rover + Range Rover Sport press pack:

I think the front cover looks great, picking out a small, but highly noticeable detail of design on the Range Rover, that being the new LED headlights. This design is very minimal, but I do not find it to be bland, and creates a level of intrigue for the audience. The slate grey background helps the minimal feel, not being as harsh as black or as stark as white can be.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.20.42

Picking up on my point earlier about placing pull quotes over the image, here is an example where I think it works very well indeed, although I’m not sure if the brackets around it take away from the text. I think to maximise this quote, a typeface with a slightly bolder stroke would have been preferable.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.21.34 Facts are again, laid out in a very easy to digest manner, perfect for the intended audience. It is interesting to see the use of a feature often seen in editorial design, to enlarge the first couple of words to create the impact, which in turn draws the reader into reading the rest.Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 08.22.04

So what’s the difference between a press pack and a brochure? The difference between a press pack and a brochure is while the customer gets a brochure, journalists who attend the press launch of the car are given a press pack so they can write up their articles using the facts inside. Therefore the press pack features the key facts made bolder, so they are more noticeable and can be understood quickly, a feature I think the audience would appreciate it if was carried across to the brochure.

Conclusion:

  • Take good design elements from the press pack, and look to integrate into the brochure, without copying obviously, as originality is key.
  • Make information easy to understand, and quick to digest.
  • To be creative, making the best use of illustrations, photography and typography. These press packs have shown these mediums can work together.
  • Consistency is essential as shown here, you can’t just merge conflicting styles together.
