15.3.13 – A trip to Tate Modern to see the Lichtenstein exhibition

With it being a reading week, I went to Tate Modern in order to see the exhibition Lichtenstein: A Retrospective. I was very interested to see the art within this exhibition in person, as I had heard so much about it, and seen the bright, bold, flat colours and thick stroke-lines, which I’ve shown in the example image below, but never really given a second thought about the impact of his work.

A guide to the exhibition can be found on the Tate Modern website, by clicking here. For images of Roy Lichtenstein’s work, the best place to find that is the Roy Lichtenstein Foundation, which can be accessed here.

Roy Lichtenstein
Whaam! 1963
Acrylic and oil on canvas
support: 1727 x 4064 mm frame: 1747 x 4084 x 60 mm
Purchased 1966© Estate of Roy Lichtenstein

I am interested in vector illustration, and although Lichtenstein’s work is painted, rather than digitally created, I feel a connection with this style, and really admired a lot of the art I saw. I love the way that flat blocky shapes, patterns and bold colours can be made to look dynamic, the above image being a prime example. This is really inspiring for my own vector illustrations, where I have to be careful to ensure using vector illustration as a style does not take the life out of my work. The mixing of processes also works well, as can be seen in the Landscape in Fog where dots are blended with other ‘styles’ of painting.

It’s the little details or features I love, like the Magnifying Glass, where the size of the dots increase to show the magnifying element. It seems obvious to do that, but as a visual piece, I think it looks great.

Overall, I thought it was a great exhibition and well worth the visit.

As normal, I went up to London with a few other people who study the same graphic design course as I do, and we stopped at Pizza Express on the Bankside to get some lunch, as it was really convenient being near by, which helped given the difficult time slot we had to attend at; too early to get lunch before, too late really to get lunch after. I had seen advertised on their website about the views across the Thames, and I have to say I loved the views from where we sat. I had to get some photos of it, which I’ve shown below.

IMG_3595 IMG_3596 IMG_3597

With London Bridge being the location of The Shard and the station we used on this trip, I saw quite a lot of it this time, and I couldn’t resist taking a couple of photos of it. I personally think it is a stunning piece of architecture, that is distinctive with a unique presence that adds to London’s dynamic skyline.

IMG_3599 IMG_3600

I also noticed the graphics used at the base of an information board for The Shard, and wanted to grab a photo of it, because I think it is a great piece of design. The white on the black background helps it to stand out, especially as it is illuminated, like the digital screen you can see above. The website, which can be accessed here, is very classily designed, with a mainly monochrome colour scheme juxtaposed against the vibrant photography, as well as the little details like the logo which has been made into a background ‘wallpaper’ as such. It’s well worth a look if you’re interested in design, especially web design.

IMG_3601

