A couple of Formula 1 posters

A couple of weeks ago I bought the latest copy of F1 Racing magazine, being the March issue meant it focused on previewing the F1 2013 season. It’s a great read, with high quality informative articles that meant even for a big fan of the sport like me, I learnt a lot. If you’re a fan of the sport, I really recommend picking up a copy. Alongside it came a free Champions of F1 poster, which interested me enough to write this post.

IMG_3579

I think this is a great poster, but what really caught my attention was that recently I have been learning the processes behind creating accurate digital illustrations of F1 cars, and this poster features the 63 championship winning cars, all in beautiful detail. It is a very inspiring poster to me, and therefore very distracting every time I look at it!

IMG_3576 IMG_3577

The detail is incredible, and this level of skill that has gone into every illustration is what I would love to be able to achieve. With a lot of practice and time spent learning, I can’t see this being an impossible goal to reach, albeit not an easy one. Mind you, it’s good to have a goal to aim for!

IMG_3578

The reverse side of the poster features an advert for the 2013 Singapore GP, one of my favourites on the calendar due to it being held at night. I love seeing the cars racing around the Marina Bay circuit at night, the floodlights bringing out the vibrant colours and the TV cameras picking out the night cityscape.

IMG_3581

The other poster I have picked up recently is one from Mercedes Benz World, with the blog post I wrote detailing the day’s highlights able to be seen here. I was so impressed with the View Suspended II exhibition featuring a disassembled Mercedes F1 car, that I wanted a poster of it, as the quality would be great, with professional photography used to capture it in its best light. With Mercedes Benz World being a busy place with many visitors, and the exhibition being in a tight spot, it is not easy to take such photos, hence why I bought a poster.

IMG_3587

There is a border around the print with the name in the bottom left corner, but for the purpose of showing it here as flat as possible (and not rolled up in a tube as it currently is!) I placed some coasters on the edge while I took photos and cropped them out later.

I also took some detail shots of the poster, which can be seen below. Again, this is another poster, where I can be very easily distracted, taking in all the details!

IMG_3583 IMG_3584 IMG_3585

Overall, I can’t wait for the season to get under way again. I won’t be making any predictions as to who will win the championship though, as like last year, it looks like it’s going to be a very close fight.

