Photoshop – Learning the Blend If tool

The Blend If tool in Photoshop CS5 that I use has been something I had overlooked up to this point, but had heard much about in various video tutorials. The video in particular that inspired me to try out the Blend If tool myself is an Iceflow Studios video I’ve placed below:

What I decided to do was focus on an image instead of text, so I got the briefcase image and the background you see below, in order to ‘blend’ the briefcase into the background, to give a weathered effect as though it has been sprayed on to the wall and distressed over time. Clicking on the links in this paragraph will take you to the image sources.

Black briefcase

Screen Shot 2013-02-02 at 10.58.15

The end result of this, using the video shown at the top of this post is below. I have to say I was very impressed with the outcome of this, especially as it did not take me too long to complete and I had never used this feature in Photoshop before.

Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 20.41.05

