Music – Evaluation and Reflection

Here I shall be evaluating and reflecting on this project before I shall conclude it by handing it in. I think I shall carry over the style of evaluation I started with my last project, as this seemed to work well to summarise the project.

The Designs:

What are the strengths of the designs I have created? Why is this the case?

I would say that the strengths within the identity I have created for my client is that the designs are dynamic and attract interest, while having enough variety within them so as to not look like they have been repeated everything, an example of this being the album cover and CD label making use of the same style of pattern for consistency, but with different finishes. The client is also very pleased with the designs I have produced for him, and that is a sign that things have progressed well with this project.

As for the typography, I think it reflects his character well in a positive light, and has met his criteria that was set out to me at the start of the project, of being minimal, clean, white and bright.

With the logo, there are two versions to ensure it works well on a light or dark background. I designed the logo to make use of an image and type, so that they can be used together, or separately as required. This flexibility allows designs to be adapted to their purpose, for example if the client is performing where most people know him, then perhaps just the pixel head part can be used, otherwise the whole logo could be used.

What are the weaknesses of the designs I have created? Why is this the case and how could I improve it if I did this project again? 

On a technical level, I am very happy with this project and am not aware of any weaknesses. However, on a design basis, some feedback did raise the query as to whether the designs suggested it was for an acoustic musician, whereas some loved the non cliché, contemporary feel of it. So this would be the only point, whether or not some of the audience would get the style of music from the design. I would like to think this is compensated for by an eye-catching and impactful design that would make people notice it, and take an interest in finding out more.

I guess that with more time on this project, perhaps more experimentation could have been achieved, but then again, this project has not be unfairly short and I have met the client’s requests.

My working practice:

How was my time keeping been throughout this project? When did I work best?

I have been extremely happy with my time keeping for this project, finishing it in good time. The added factor with this project was dealing with the client, as I would need to wait for him to reply to e-mails. As I was never able to obtain his phone number, I was never able to prompt the client to respond if he took his time, but thankfully right up until near the end of the project, this has not been a problem.

This project has seen me work more independently than before, allowing me to work productively at home for a lot of the project. Combining this with going into college for feedback and discussions about my work has created a constructive working balance.

How was my analysis of the brief? Did I need to ask for clarification over points?

I would say my analysis of the brief was comprehensive and addressed the points raised. Clarification was needed for some areas of this project, such as creating mock ups of the work, and advice was given over how to work as smoothly as possible with a client for the first time.

How was my research useful to the project and/or myself?

With this project, research has again been more on a need to know basis, which branched into two directions, one to look into album cover and the identities of other musicians, and the other was to revisit the research I did for my Identity project, where I looked into creating an identity for myself as a graphic designer, where a lot of the research there was relevant to me here as well. I have also continued looking into video tutorials to increase my knowledge.

How did I experiment and create ideas for this project? Was this effective?

The first forms of experimenting came through sketches. It set me on a good path which I continued throughout. The sketches worked very well for getting ideas out from my head into a visual format to receive feedback on, such as at the interim crit. Then there reached a point as with any project once the layout of the designs has been determined where I need to trial techniques out on-screen, so most of my experimenting took place there. Unfortunately it all happened in such a blur I forgot to take screenshots to document this as effectively as possible. Overall though, experimentation was crucial to making this project work, and is something I am finding is playing an ever larger role in projects, which I think is correlating strongly to the quality of my final designs.

Where have I shown I have met the specific learning outcomes?

An increased awareness of the constraints of a design brief. I would say this has been understood more than ever with working to a client’s requirements being added to the ‘normal’ requirements of a course brief.

Developed a deeper understanding and evaluation of solutions to a design brief that encompass set criteria. The solutions for this project not only needed to impress the tutors, but most importantly, the client who I was designing for.

Increased awareness of the history of typography including traditional typographic terminology and how it has been adapted to modern technology. Using these skills within the project has allowed me to choose a suitable typeface combination for the client.

Developed a greater awareness of the connotations of typeface choice and be able to justify decisions across a wide range of applications. My research has shown I have looked into how the client would be viewed regarding the connotations of typefaces.

What parts of the project did I enjoy? Why was this the case?

I have to say I found this project very interesting, as it is a subject area that I have never looked into before, so to branch out and create designs I would not have created before really helps.

What parts of the project did I not enjoy? Why was this the case?

Dealing with a client, albeit one that has made life as easy as I guess a client can make it for the best part of the project, does not take away from the fact that I designed something, and instead of signing it off in my head, or asking for advice from a tutor, I needed to prepare it to show to the client, and hope they responded sensibly. (Which I should add, my client did.)

How was it working with a client?

I have already spoken about the timeframe aspect of this, and how they can slow down a project with their contact, and I think they are the two biggest issues of dealing with a client. I think for this project it has worked out well for me, as the client has had a grasp on what they want, have been able to articulate feedback, and has not been so demanding that they might as well design it themselves!

Any thoughts and targets that can be carried over to the next project?

I would say this project has been another strong one for me, and it looks promising for the future to see my designing skills developing strongly. The hope is obviously to build upon this in future projects and learn more skills.

The learning of skills has been the biggest factor in my designs improving as I now have the means to better realise concepts in my head, allowing for more expressive and original work. Combine this with branching into new design subjects, and my knowledge is increasing further.

It has been a good start to 2013, and now I shall be starting to think about what I can do for the next project, and for the Final Major Project, as after all, it won’t be long before it becomes top of the priority list!

