Identity – Evaluation and Reflection

Here is my evaluation for this project on identity documents. How I will do this is to answer a set of questions originally created by a tutor so I can assess what I have done well with on this project, and where I can improve for future projects.

Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

  • I have created a business card, letterhead and compliment slip.
  • The required information is included.
  • I have explored a logo for myself that can strengthen my identity.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I personally think that the piece does meet the requirements set out in the brief otherwise I would not have submitted it as a final design.

What are the strengths of the visual communications? Why?

I would say it is a fair representation of who I am as a designer, and shows my approach to design captured in a snapshot. I think the design I have chosen is engaging to those who come into contact with it and can stand on its own. Best of all it shows my identity and has a more personal touch than other business cards I have seen.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communications? Can the design piece be mis-understood? Why?

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I think with more time for this project I could have created a stronger logo that maybe combined imagery and type together, but it appears the tutors are aware of this as we were informed on the handing over of the brief that a logo would be viewed as “work in progress.” With more time and resources I would have been able to have created a stronger design that would appear better resolved as a physical design.

Working Practices:

How was my time keeping?

Time keeping has been a challenge on this project as I have only had four days to work on it, but I feel on the whole, I have risen to the challenge, streamlining my usual project thought process into the shortest timeframe yet. I feel I am certainly developing my time keeping as time goes on, which is encouraging.

How was my analysis of the brief?

My analysis was accurate, especially as it was laid out in a clear and coherent manner and was rather black and white in terms of what needed to be done.

How was my research?

Very concise, but enough to give me an overview of the subject and to provide me with the inspiration and contemporary trends being seen with identity documents. I think with more time, I would not have achieved much else, other than structure my thought process in a slightly more coherent manner.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

Well, I mentioned key points as I went along in the project, but mentioned at the end of most blog posts was a conclusion where I clearly documented what I had learnt and needed to take forward to other sections of the project.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

I established what I could learn from my research and combined this with the ideas I had in my head, and progressed into seeing what worked and what didn’t. I would say the research into identity documents reminded me to be creative, original and make a personal impact, but ensure the resulting design is able to represent me in a variety of different styles, some of which are involved in this project.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

I basically just wrote my thought process, there were no formal evaluations as such, I just wrote what I felt to be true, and then in the next section of my ideas or development, worked on correcting anything I had noted.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I used quick fine-liner sketches to rattle through the many ideas that I had, but a lot of the time I thought the idea out in my head and mentally visualised it, then if I thought it had potential to look good, then I’ll put it down on paper. But soon I find I need to experiment on-screen, especially when this involves typography.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

  • I showed an “increased awareness of the constraints of a design brief ” by structuring the project to fit the timeframe involved.
  • I developed a “deeper understanding and evaluation of solutions to a design brief that encompass set criteria” by producing a design that met the brief.
  • I have increased “my awareness of traditional typographic terminology” through research into this subject which benefited this project.
  • I developed a “greater awareness of the connotations of typeface choice and was able to justify decisions” for my designs and how my design communicated with the audience to show how I expected my identity documents to be received.
  • I developed an “increasing awareness of contemporary typographic trends and innovative developments” by researching into business cards, an area where contemporary typographic trends are often explored and how I could take influence from this for my designs.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I would say that the part of this project that I enjoyed the most was creating the idea in Photoshop once I had an idea of how I could create it. It was very satisfying to work on a projct and see it come together very successfully.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least and found difficult? Why was this the case?

I have not enjoyed this limited timeframe and the technical areas regarding printing these designs I have mentioned elsewhere in my blog for this project.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

I worked at my best for the vast majority of this project because of the short timeframe, which meant I had no choice but not to waste time and think about things for too long.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow it up?

The creativity of these business cards I researched in particular were very inspiring, and I think that the various manners that can be used to make them stand out is of interest to me as well.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

I guess as the saying goes ‘practice makes perfect’, the more projects I do, the more I am tested in my capabilities and the more I learn, what I find difficult now will hopefully not be so difficult in the future. There are a lot of things I take for granted now that caused me real issues a year ago.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

As I have said before, and will probably say again, I develop the skills I need as projects go along. Although I will add, I am watching many more video tutorials and my designs improve when I have the skills level needed to realise them.

To finish up thank you to anyone who gave feedback or advice that helped me for this project.

