Identity – Ideas (Sketches)

Here is the blog post where I finally display the ideas that I got in my head shortly after the brief was announced. This time it did not actually take me that long to create the ideas, and with the amount of identity documents around that I showed a snapshot of in my research, which can be read here, I managed to get a comprehensive level of inspiration for this project.

My very first initial sketches are mainly fine-liner as I personally find this to be the best way of sketching ideas quickly. I’ve placed them below, and then after that, I’ll annotate them, talk about the main proposals I came up with, and assess what could work well.

I should point out some ideas for a ‘logo’ could come from a previous project if I feel it represents me well, and this also works well with the timeframe I have, as the tutor said any logo handed in would most likely be treated as “work in progress.”

These were the very first sketches I made on the afternoon of getting the brief.
Here I am visually assessing the CMYK idea and the eye idea.
Here I am visually assessing the Signature idea as well as a QR code idea.

Idea Proposals:

Signature: This idea involves me placing my signature onto the front of a business card to show a uniquely personal touch, rather than just seeing a name as part of a typeface. (Even though this can describe someone like myself adequately) This can then transfer across to a letterhead/compliment slip easily enough. As for the colour scheme, I am looking for it to be monochromatic. To make it even more personal, there may be a chance to draw on the portrait of myself I did for the last project; portrait. I think it is worth looking into further.

Eye: I think the eye design I produced for the portrait project would also transfer across as a logo that would attract attention. Obviously it would need to be edited, to work away from the pencil sketch and I may well remove the portrait from the pupil as it would not be relevant. I would then keep the rest of the design as minimal as possible so as not to make the business card too cluttered, harming the availability of the information. I think it is worth looking into further.

CMYK: Drawing from one of my website ideas from last year, which I have not placed onto my blog, I used a white background with the four colours that make up the CMYK printing process, so as you can see I have been experimenting with how they would look best as part of a set of identity documents for myself. I think it is worth looking into further.

Grid: One idea I did was to think about making the structure of the design visible, so that a client would be able to see the way in which I had constructed the design, and hopefully would be impressed by this, and employ my services. However, thinking about it some more, I think it would be too dominant and take away from being able to read the information clearly, so I will not proceed further with this idea.

QR code: Something I included within my research was an inspiring business card design that focused on a QR code. Providing a physical link to a website rather than the person having to type in the web address is beneficial, so I have explored how this could be used on a business card in an original manner. However, I am not sure I would be happy with the design overall, and as time is limited, I will not proceed further.

Info-graphics: Instead of using type to show categories such as Website, E-mail etc. I have wondered whether graphic symbols could be used better, to minimise the impact of the design and to show a mixture of imagery and typesetting working together. This could also work with any idea I have previously discussed. I think it is worth looking into further.

Now I have established the approaches I think could work well, I will move onto the next stage of this project, which will be to construct them on-screen, highlight the evolution of the designs, and of course come onto typography, something I can not assess from my sketchbook.

