Identity – Development

Here is the development to my ideas from my last blog post, where I show how far I have currently reached with the project.

I should add at this point that the phone number and address you see is not my own, and is random, so have no association with me as there is no valid reason yet to advertise those details. I have also fixed the typo I mentioned from the last blog post.

Business Cards:

Eye: For the eye, I decided the logo should be smaller, and positioned to the left, which allows me to place my name on there. From the results of my experimentation, I decided I would have my name in lower case characters with no space, as it would appear on an e-mail address for example as that saves space on the back of the business card. The logo on the back is faded as it is not the focal point, but is a carry through piece of design as you will see when the whole set is viewed together.

As for the typography, I set the type in Open Sans, and on the front set it at 14pt in the semibold weight as I felt any bolder would lose the delicacy of the type strokes. I changed the kerning between the ‘x’ and the ‘g’ to 50, as I felt the gap needed to be ever so slightly larger, especially as that is the break between first name and surname. For the back, I have sized it at 8pt, using the light and semibold weights for a distinction.

Signature: Here I have combined the signature idea with the portrait idea I had discussed previously, which is most visible on the front of this business card. For the back of the business card, I have also bought in the info-graphic idea I was thinking about. I have kept the symbols very simple but I think they are stylish, and very clear. The top symbol is the WordPress logo, which I downloaded from their media site which can be accessed here, and edited it to fit into my design. I chose this because the ‘w’ can represent the website, but also at the moment my only ‘website’ as such that I have is my WordPress blog.

As for the typography I had to be careful as it was important to make sure the weight of Open Sans is not too light, as otherwise it would not work against the black background in case of bleeding. I chose to use the regular weight and set it at 10pt.

As for the colour scheme, it was largely dictated by the portrait photo, so I chose to go for a black background with dark grey detailing, as I think it works very well to provide a high quality, refined aesthetic.

Letterheads:

Eye: The first thing I did to develop this design was to increase the margins to 15mm all around in order to create space, allowing for a minimal aesthetic. From my research I could see how the details on letterheads are often placed on the right side of the letter, which avoids clashing with the actual letter, allowing for a more efficient design. To this extent it makes more sense to right align the type to be flush with the margin, and place the type rivers out to the left to flow into the negative space.

As for the typography, it very much follows the style of what I have previously discussed for the business cards, but as I have got more room, I chose to size the type at 9pt. I used the light and semibold weights and made a change to the tracking for the type by changing it to 25 as I find the only issue with Open Sans is it can be very close to crashing at times, and I prefer a little bit of a space to aid the flow of reading.

Signature: Developing this idea began with me removing the top white space to allow the black section to bleed off the page. I did this to enable to fit in better with the business card I created for this design, which uses a totally black background, but I did not want a full black background for the letterhead here as I wanted to be fit for purpose.

As for the type here, as you can see it has changed to Open Sans, but instead of setting it to run down the right column, I have decided to place it across the top, underneath what I guess I shall call the header. To do this, I needed to put the type size down to 7pt, which in theory I thought would be too small, but in practice I think it has worked remarkably well, is legible because of the clarity provided by this typeface. As for type weights etc. it matches the other design idea I have.

Compliment Slip:

Eye: For the compliment slip I wanted something to be similar in style to the letterhead, but not exactly the same. To do this I kept the type on the right hand side with all the required information the same, but from my research I had seen how compliment slips often feature the phrase ‘With Compliments’ on, so I felt it would be fitting to include this on the design, so I have placed it on the left hand side, which would be a natural position to start from when writing a note on the slip.

This did not leave a very clear space to fit in the eye ‘logo’ I have included for the letterhead and business card, but the solution was inspired by the business card with the logo with lowered opacity. I have decided here to fit the logo in to fill the height of the slip and fade the opacity right down to 10% so as not to obstruct the message that would be written on the slip.

Signature: For this the design was very much suited to being lifted straight from the letterhead and placed onto the compliment slip. While not essential as the other design shows, it does help the identity to bond. The only design change really was to ensure I placed a ‘With Compliments’ at the base set on the lower margin to ensure that it complemented the note I wrote.

Overall I would say both of these designs are now in a position to represent me as a designer in a successful manner. As for which one to select, that is what I can’t decide as ever! Some will not be surprised to hear this as it is not the first time I have been in this predicament. (and they are probably sighing at the thought of this right now! :P)

As ever, I would appreciate any feedback on my designs that can be offered as long as it is realistically attainable to me in the short time I have and is constructive!

The next blog post will look into any adjustments I need to make to the designs before printing, then I will most likely write up how I constructed my designs and provide an evaluation of how I have found this project and what can be learned from it.

