The first fragment of research and ideas

After reading the brief and the learning outcomes I needed to start my research somewhere. The opportunity to make meaningful progress came earlier than expected when I had the chance to read an old Creative Review magazine which so happened to be the Photography Annual 2010. Now I know I have chosen illustration, but that does not mean I can’t use photography to gain inspiration for this project.

Below are a few photos taken from the magazine for education purposes (obviously none of which is my own work) to highlight my thoughts. Apologies for the poor photos (I blame limited time, a small desk and my ‘point and shoot’ style of photography…)

To show my thoughts I’ll number them to correspond with the images from top to bottom.

  1. Lighting. Against a dark background, I felt it really allowed the bridge to stand out. To me this showed just how important lighting is to convey a message and how different it would look if it was not.
  2. Construction. From afar, it just looks like a black and white portrait, but up close it stands out as being a sequence of dots. However, what really caught my eye was the contrast between the dots making the human element, and the thick black tone of the jacket he is wearing for the material element.
  3. Vector image. It looks to me like a vector image (I may be wrong here) but it was interesting to see how much simpler this image is than a photograph, with the use of block colours and without the finer details you would expect with a photograph, but how the visual content is still clear, by looking at the bigger image.
  4. Motion. Capturing a series of quick fire images of a horse galloping, I felt it was an interesting way of showing dynamic change of a living animal. A thought I had was maybe something could be done to show the face changing between emotions? As one image of someone does not always really capture the full character of someone.
  5. Same as 4.
  6. Hidden. How do you judge the psychology of the face if it is hidden? Well, I don’t think you can, so I think it really is essential to use a face to visually state the psychology of faces as set in the brief. I also feel taking this portrait highlights how there is still a identity of the person under the burkha, even if we can’t see them.
  7. Explosion. I felt this idea could be a great way to state the psychology of faces by looking into how emotions are controlled by the brain, a hidden part of the human head. By moving the coloured shapes from the mouth to the top of the head, I wonder if it could be an abstract visual way of showing the element controlling the psychology of the face.

Once I had looked through the magazine, I decided to sit down and sketch some very initial ideas. Normally, this is a solitary time, but as I found myself with another member of the group, we both came up with ideas, discussed them and suggested opinions and potential improvements on each other’s ideas. I found it was also helpful as I pushed the boundaries and had many ideas that were not practical, but from which certain elements could be taken for use later on in the project.

Below are my ideas that I created, which I have scanned in to show on this blog:

I will discuss my ideas in greater detail later on in the project, but as can be seen, a lot of my attention focuses on the eyes as I believe they give the biggest clue to the psychology of the face as well as trying to think of different and unique ways that we can look at a face, because I feel while everyone is unique, over time I feel we become blasé seeing faces.

Now I shall move onto properly constructing the research I need in order to ensure I meet the required brief. My research sections are those I discussed when I analysed the brief.

